Lactose Intolerance Global Network

Where is?

What can I and can’t eat? With this guidind traffic light our aim is to advise you, but remember that any product that appears to be lactose free (as it doesn’t contain lactose in its natural State), can have added ingredients and additives that convert the product into something unsuitable for people with an intolerance. Therfore, our recommendation is to always read the ingredients carefully and ask the manufacturer when in doubt.

no
FORBIDDEN FOODS

Food
Cow’s, goat’s, sheep’s, mare’s milk, etc. (mammals)
Breast milk
Powdered milk
Evaporated milk
Condensed milk
Milkshakes
Butter
Cream
Fresh cream
Yoghurt
Drinking yoghurt
Fresh cheese
Fermented or cured cheese
Single cream
Quark
Dairy desserts
Flans
Custards
Rice pudding
Mousse
Ice cream
Bechamel sauce
Milk chocolate

Ingredients and additives
Lactose
Lactose monohydrate
Milk sugar
Milk solids
E966 Lactitol (1)
Whey, buttermilk, milk serum (1)
Milk fat

 

bread
FOODS THAT MAY CONTAIN LACTOSE

Foods
Creams
Soups
Breads
Cakes and tarts
Cold meat
Processed meat
Fried meat
Puree (potato, vegetable, etc.)
Pastries: donuts, muffins, buns, etc.
Biscuits
Pancakes
Crackers
Ready meals
Enriched cereals
Salad dressing
Mayonnaise
Ice cream sherbets
Milkshakes
Batter
Chocolate substitutes
Instant soups
Alcoholic drinks (fermented or distiled) (2)
Margarine (3)

Products
Excipients in medications (4)
Vitamin complexes
Toothpastes

Ingredients ans additives
Rennet (5)

gapple
ALLOWED FOODS

Foods
Natural fruit
Dried fruit
Fish
Seafood
Cereals
Eggs
Honey
Marmalade
Potatoes
Rice
Pasta
Vegetables
Legumes
White and red meat
Vegetables drinks: soy, coconut, oats, rice, almonds milk,etc

Ingredients and additives of dairy origin (6)
Milk protein
Casein
Caseinate
H4511 Calcium caseinate
H4512 Sodium caseinate
H4513 Potassium caseinate
Magnesium caseinate
Lactalbumin
Lactoglobulin

Ingredients and additives
E101 Riboflavin or Lactoflavin
E101A Riboflavin or Lactoflavin Phospate
E106 Lactoflavin Phospate
E270 Lactic acid
E325 Sodium Lactate
E326 Potassium Lactate
E327 Calcium Lactate
E328 Ammonium Lactate
E329 Magnesium Lactate
E385 Ferrous lactate derived from E270
E472b Lactid acid esters of mono and diglycerides of fatty acids
E481 Sodium stearoyl 2 lactylate
E482 Calcium stearoyl 2 lactylate
Starch (rice, corn, wheat, potato)

(0) ALLERGENS ON LABELLING OF PACKAGED AND UNPACKAGED PRODUCTS
El Regulation (EU) 1169/2011 on food information provided to the customer establishes that information on allergens -that appear in appendix II and include dairy and dairy derivatives including lactose- must appear on the list of ingredients on all packaged goods, and must be highlighted to stands out clearly from the other ingredients (e.g. using type of font, style, background colour, etc.). In the absence of a list of ingredients, in the case of a product with a single ingredient, it must also mention that it “contains” followed by the substance or product appearing in appendix II. Likewise, allergens in unpackaged foods sold to the end customers must also be indicated (sale in bulk in shops, markets, etc.).

(1) EXCEPTIONS TO THE OBLIGATION OF INCLUSION ON LABELLING (DAIRY)
Regulation (EU) 1169/2011 on the food information provided to the consumer, in appendix II, specifies the two unique exceptions -in the case of dairy- that are foreseen in the obligation to be stated on the label of food products:
Lactitol Derivative of lactose. This is used as a low calorie sweetener for sweets, sugar-free chewing gum, biscuits, icecream, low-calorie foods and laxatives.
Whey Only when used in the process of making distilled alcoholic drinks

(2) EXCEPTION TO THE OBLIGATION OF INCLUSION ON LABELLING (ALCOHOLIC DRINKS)
Alcoholic drinks are divided into two types according to their manufacturing process and final alcohol percentage:
Fermented drinks -those with an alcohol percentage <15º/<15% like wine, beer, cider, cava, etc.-
Distilled drinks or spirits -those with an alcohol percentage >15º/>15% like gin, whisky, rum, etc.
Regulation (EU) 1169/2011 on the food information provided to the consumer establishes that alcoholic drinks containing over 1,2%/1,2º in alcohol volume -the majority of alcoholic drinks both fermented and distilled- therefore, are currently exempt from the manufacturer’s obligation to include nutritional information and a list of ingredients on the label.

(3)MARGARINE
Margarine should be 100% vegetable,but on the market the majority of margarines have added dairy and it’s best to only consume those where the manufacturer explicitly guarantees the absence of dairy.

(4) EDO, EXCIPIENTS THAT MUST OBLIGATORILY BE STATED ON MEDICATION
Although medications are outside the specific regulation on allergens provided by Regulation (EU) 1169/2011 on the food information provided to the consumer, they are obliged to declare those known as excipients of obligatory declaration (EDO) which continue to be updated according to scientific and technical progress and according to the provisions of the European Union in these regards (art.34 of RD 1345/2007). And it is based on the European standard (Directive 2001/83/CE) and legislation included in the legal order that the Spanish Agency of Medicines and Medical Devices put together the EDP in its newsletter 2/2008 on “Information on excipients on labels, prospects and technical data sheets of medications for human consumption“ which included the following sugars as of obligatory declaration: Glucose, Fructose, Galactose, Lactose, Lactitol, Maltitol, Manitol, Sacrose, Sorbitol and Xilitol.
In the pharmaceutical industry lactose is the basis of more than 20% of prescription drugs sold and 65% of OTC medicines. Currently 808 drugs contain lactose as an excipient, and is notifiable. Lactose as an excipient, it helps the active ingredient of the drug will work in a stable, effective and safe for the patient who takes it. It is used in tablets by their solubility and palatability, but also found in other presentations (vials, suspensions, inhalers). Source SEIAC 2010

(5) RENNET
Ferment we find in the stomach mucous of some mammals (goat, sheep or cow) and is used to curdle milk . The active substance of rennet is chymosin, which when added to milk causes it to separate into casein and whey. This process is required to create all cheeses. Although animal bennet continues to be produced today, the cheese industry has found ways to produce chymosin using bacterial cultures or fermentation, and we must be careful about their origin and always ask the manufacture in each case before using them.

(6) INGREDIENTS OF DAIRY ORIGIN CROSSED CONTAMINATION
Take care with ingredients or additives of dairy origin. Although they are not related to lactose there may be crossed contamination with lactose due to them having the same dairy origin. We must always get in touch with the manufacturer for them to guarantee the absence of lactose cross contamination and that they are suitable for people with intolerance.